If you're switching to a new PC and need to move your PrintFactory RIP over. This guide will walk you through it step-by-step. You won’t need to delete anything on your current computer. We’ll just install the same version of PrintFactory on the new PC and either restore your printers or copy your configuration folder. Once you feel comfortable with your new setup, you could then remove PrintFactory if you would like, from the original computer.
Make sure of the following:
You install the same version of PrintFactory on the new computer as the old one.
You do not run the RIP on both computers at the same time—only one set of print drivers can be active.
IMPORTANT: If your RIP is also the License Server - See this article for added steps on how to move that before completing steps on this article.
This is the easiest option if you want to bring over just your printers and rip settings.
Open the RIP.
Click Help > About.
Write down the version number (for example, 6.8.5.1234).
Check here for the installers.
Install the exact same version you’re using now on the new PC
On the old PC, open the RIP.
Select Each Printer one by one and Edit> Backup Printer Settings
Next, make a backup of your environment: Edit>Backup Preferences
Make sure you close the RIP completely so the new PC can take over the license.
On the new PC, open the RIP.
Go to Edit > Backup/Restore > Restore Preferences
Select the backup file one by one that you saved earlier.
Open the RIP.
Click Help > About.
Write down the version number (for example, 6.8.5.1234).
Check here for the installers.
Install the exact same version you’re using now on the new PC
On the old PC, open the RIP.
Select Each Printer one by one and Edit> Backup Printer Settings>Save to Chosen Location
Next, make a backup of your environment: Edit>Backup Preferences>Save to Chosen Location
Make sure you close the RIP completely so the new PC can take over the license.
Move the backup files made from PC 1 over to the new PC:
On the new PC, open the RIP.
Go to Edit > Backup/Restore > Restore Preferences>Browse to the Manual Backups
Select the backup file one by one that you saved earlier.
You do not need to uninstall or delete anything on the old PC until you are fully setup on the second, but does need to be off when running the new RIP.
If you run into a license conflict, just make sure the RIP is shut down fully on the original computer.